College of Veterinarians of British Columbia (CVBC)Airport Executive Park
Building 7
Suite 210, 10991 Shellbridge Way
Richmond, BC V6X 3C6

Luisa Hlus, Registrar & CEO (Legal Counsel)
lhlus@cvbc.ca

Dr. Stacey Thomas, DVM, Deputy Registrar
sthomas@cvbc.ca

Darcie Light, Complaints Coordinator
dlight@cvbc.ca

(c) appd.ca

Dr. Gurmeet Singh Tuli
Millview Pet Hospital
Edmonton, AB
gurmeetsingh.tuli@abvma.ca
Edmonton Region

Zone 7 - Ontario Central    Peter Laventhall – Wolfish
peter@laventhall.com


Dr. Colleen Pratt
Edmonton, Alberta 
colleen.pratt@abvma.ca
North Region

Zone 10 - Alberta, NWT & Nunavut   Sharon Derrick
sderrick@shaw.ca

Zone 1 - Nova Scotia & Newfoundland & Labrador   Lendra Barker
edelmar@ns.sympatico.ca

D/C/Dc News. https://www.ckc.ca/en/News/2019/April/CVMA-Members-Invited-to-Participate-in-Consultation

First of all, thank you for your support, must say our efforts are not going unnoticed. The Canadian Veterinarian Medical Association is asking Veterinarian members for opinions on D/C/|Dc procedures, just after the College of Veterinarians of Ontario and Alberta Veterinarian Medical Association received our petition letters.
 Is it a coincidence, we do not know but we should take full advantage of this situation. And send in our letters to the Canadian Veterinarian Medical Association as well before the deadline of April 21, 2019.

The CVMA is responsible for advocating these bans but also has the power to recommend that all Veterinary associations to partake in a scientific study program. In 1980 the CVMA recommended tail docking and dewclaw removal practice be removed from all Veterinary colleges, not soon after all provincial colleges removed the practice from their curriculums. Maybe with our efforts we could encourage the CVMA to endorse a  scientific study program on D/C/Dc as well.

Here is a letter template that can be used feel free to add your own comments and concerns to make the letter more personal. If you do not have the gift of words than just fill in the blanks and sent to the following email address below. The deadline for comments is April the 21st so there is no time for snail mail but plenty of time to send a few emails.

While you wait for a response, try and think of what's to come if this scientific study was launched and all of Canada could participate.

The CVMA has all the power over all provincial Veterinary Medical Associations. We have come a long way and believe big changes could occur in Canada if we all pull together this one last time. FOR OUR DOGS

Yours Truly
Jean Berghuijs
Founder of APPD

Zone 8 - Manitoba         Corinne Walker
prairieskykennel@gmail.com


The first letter is to the College of Veterinarians of Ontario and is addressed to Ms. Jan Robinson - Registrar & Chief Executive Officer and can be found HERE

There is no need to spam her email just a single letter send to the address posted in the template.

Mr. Mick Howden
mick.howden@abvma.ca 
Public Member

Zone 11 - BC Southwest        Joan Bennett
joanbennettbcsw@gmail.com

Zone 6 - Ontario West          Dr. Paul Eckford
paul@tinybearpoms.com

Canadian Veterinary Medical Association
339 Booth Street
Ottawa, ON  K1R 7K1 Canada

Tel: (613) 236-1162 | (800) 567-2862

Fax: (613) 236-9681

Mr. Jost Am Rhyn Chief Executive Officer jamrhyn@cvma-acmv.org

Ms. Tanya Frye, Manager, Communications & Public Relations tfrye@cvma-acmv.org

Dr. Shane Renwick Manager, National Issues & Animal Welfare srenwick@cvma-acmv.org

Ms. Stella Wheatly Assistant Managing Editor, Journals swheatley@cvma-acmv.org
Ms. Alexandra Schlesiger, Coordinator, Programs and Membership aschlesiger@cvma-acmv.org

Nova Scotia Veterinary Medical Association (NSVMA)15 Cobequid Rd.
Lower Sackville, NS B4C 2M9
Tel: (902) 865-1876
Fax: (902) 865-2001

President Dr. Anthony Snyder

info@nsvma.ca


Zone 9 - Saskatchewan       David Gilmour
davidgilmour@sasktel.net

Ordre des médecins vétérinaires du Québec (OMVQ)800, avenue Ste-Anne, bureau 200
St-Hyacinthe, QC J2S 5G7
Tel: (450) 774-1427 / 1-800-267-1427
Fax: (450) 774-7635

Dre Caroline Kilsdonk, m.v., M. A.  Présidente

info@omvq.qc.ca

Dr. Chris Belan
Calgary, Alberta  
chris.belan@abvma.ca
Calgary Region

Zone 4 - Ontario North   Richard Paquette
wenrick@wenrick.ca 

Newfoundland and Labrador College of Veterinarians (NLVetCollege)P.O. Box 21029
St. John's, NL A1A 5B2
Tel: (709) 986-1859 
Fax: (709) 596-1506

President: Dr. Maggie Brown-Bury

nlvetcollege@gmail.com


Manitoba Veterinary Medical Association (MVMA)1590 Inkster Blvd.
Winnipeg, MB R2X 2W4
Tel: (204) 832-1276 / 1-866-338-6862

Andrea Lear, Executive Director 

alear@mvma.ca

Communications & Professional Development Coordinator
satnikov@mvma.ca

Mr. Ross Plecash
ross.plecash@abvma.ca 
Public Member 

The third letter is to the Alberta Veterinary Medical Association and is addressed to Dr. Darrell Dalton- Registrar. Due to the limited time between now and ABVMA'S council meeting scheduled for April. as well as the lack of participation at ABVMA most recent AGM.  We ask you to not only send a hard copy to Dr. Darrell Dalton but also send email to ABVMA council members as well. Template for ABVMA letter can be found HERE

Ms. Kate Simon                          Guardian Veterinary Centre
Edmonton, AB
kate.simon@abvma.ca
ABVMA RVT Member - North District

Northwest TerritoriesDepartment of Health and Social Services
Government of the Northwest Territories
Box 1320, CST-8
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9
Tel: (867) 920-8058
Fax: (867) 873-0484

Honourable Glen Abernethy

glen_abernethy@gov.nt.ca


Saskatchewan Veterinary Medical Association (SVMA)202 – 224 Pacific Ave
Saskatoon, SK S7K 1N9
Tel: (306) 955-7862
Fax: (306) 975-0623

PRESIDENT Dr Victor Kernaleguen

info@gatewayvet.ca

CVMA REPRESENTATIVE Dr Tracy Fisher

rickespie@sasktel.net

Dr. Kathleen Keil              Calgary, Alberta  
kathy.keil@abvma.ca
South Region

Dr. Kim Romanufa
Hermitage Veterinary Hospital  
Edmonton, Alberta  
kim.romanufa@abvma.ca

Zone 5 - Ontario East    Thomas Nesbitt
nesbittzone5@gmail.com

Ms. Darcie Steffler               NAIT AHT Program 
darcie.steffler@abvma.ca
ABVMA RVT Member - South District

Dr. Kirsten Aarbo Big Rock Animal Clinic
kirsten.aarbo@abvma.ca
Calgary Region

Dr. Lisa Lomsnes
Lomsnes Veterinary Hospital
Red Deer, Alberta 
lisa.lomsnes@abvma.ca 
President - Central Region

Dr. Daren Mandrusiak            Park Veterinary Centre
Edmonton, Alberta 
daren.mandrusiak@abvma.ca
Edmonton Region

New Brunswick Veterinary Medical Association (NBVMA)P.O. Box 24063
Saint John, NB E2M 5R8
Tel: (506) 693-9994
Fax: (506) 635-2903

Dr. George Whittle, Executive Director/Registrar

nbvma.amvnb@gmail.com


Zone 2 - New Brunswick & PEI  Paul Oslach
poslach@outlook.com 

Petition info posted on change.org site: Scientific research program.

Zone 3 - Quebec               Linda St-Hilaire
lindasthilaire@videotron.ca

Protecting and Preserving the Heritage of our Purebred Dogs.

Prince Edward Island Veterinary Medical Association (PEIVMA)465 University Ave
PO Box 21097
Charlottetown, PE C1A 9H6
Tel: (902) 367-3757
Fax: (902) 838-5077

Dr Caitlin Matters, President

admin.peivma@gmail.com

Zone 12 - BC Interior & Yukon
Lynne Bruce
lynnebruce5@gmail.com

The second letter is to the Canadian Kennel Club addressed to the CEO of the CKC and can be found HERE

Because there has been so much secrecy between board members of CKC we are posting the email addresses to the all the board members below.  Now you can not only send a hard copy to the CEO but you can also insure the information is reaching the board as well.

First of all, thank you for supporting this petition.
Wish we could say that signing the petition online was all that was needed, but it’s not. In order for the petition to be truly successful a hard copy of your signature needs to be delivered to petition recipients.
To help with this APPD has made letter templates for all, that can easily be printed and sign. There are three templates in all and they must be mailed via snail mail individually to the Canadian Kennel Club, College of Veterinarians of Ontario and the Alberta Veterinarian Medical Association.

Nunavut
Registrar
Department of Health and Social Services
Government of Nunavut
Box 390
Kugluktuk, NU X0B 0E0
Tel: (867) 982-7655/7668
Fax: (867) 982-7640/3256

Honourable Joe Savikataaq
hssnunavutregistrar@gov.nu.ca